Alabama imposes strict penalties for driving under the influence convictions. This charge applies to obvious impairment or for blood alcohol content of 0.08% or higher at the time of the arrest.
Review the possible legal consequences for an Alabama DUI.
With no prior DUIs, a convicted person could receive:
- Fines of $600 to $2,100
- Up to one year in jail
- License suspension for 90 days
- Six months with an ignition interlock device
In general, longer sentences and larger fines result from elevated circumstances such as causing an injury, having a passenger younger than 14 or having a BAC above 0.15%.
A second DUI offense in Alabama carries:
- Fines of $1,100 to $5,100
- At least five days and up to one year in jail
- License suspension for 12 months
- 24 months with an ignition interlock device
A person with two prior DUI could receive these penalties:
- Fines of $2,100 to $10,100
- At least 60 days and up to one year in jail
- License suspension for 36 months
- 36 months with an ignition interlock device
Related charges may carry additional penalties. For example, refusal to take a breath test at the scene of a DUI results in a 90-day license suspension, or 12 months with a previous refusal.
All convicted offenders must take a substance abuse evaluation and complete all recommendations for treatment to have their licenses reinstated. Some individuals qualify for restricted license programs. Alabama may allow community service instead of jail time for some convictions.