Marijuana laws have been in a constant state of change for the last several years. While in some states cannabis is legal to buy and possess, in Alabama only CBD is legal.
We understand the law as it applies to marijuana and we have helped many of our clients with their cases.
Possession of marijuana in Alabama
According to FindLaw, possession of marijuana for personal use will result in a class A misdemeanor. Subsequent offenses of the same nature result in a class D felony. Additionally, if you have marijuana on your person for any reason other than personal use, the penalty is a class C felony. In both cases, felony charges may earn you up to 10 years in prison with a fine of up to $15,000. Currently, Alabama’s marijuana laws do not state how much marijuana falls under personal use.
Selling marijuana in Alabama
If you sell marijuana to others, the penalties and fines are much stiffer. Categorized as a class B felony, it is illegal to sell, distribute, or deliver marijuana to other people. The charges for this offense include up to 10 years in prison with a fine of up to $30,000. If you are over 18 and sell marijuana to a minor, that automatically bumps your charge up to a class A felony. Class A felonies are punishable by up to 99 years in jail and a fine of up to $60,000. Not only that but if you sell marijuana within three miles of a school, you could see an additional five years tacked on to your sentence. More information about this topic is available on our webpage.